Musical Notes

Musical NotesBy Esther Callens

New this month on Wavetone Records is the exciting, fantastic release by bassist and composer Mark Egan.  About Now is the seventh album that Mark chairs the leader slot. Composed of a lively trio that includes Egan along with Danny Gottlieb and Mitch Forman, About Now encompasses a totally wonderful experience.
Featured on About Now are nine original, impressive compositions. The defining factor behind About Now is the album temperament that’s clearly exhibited between Mark, Danny and Mitch. It depicts a few fellows playing a few casual arrangements. The set opens with “Sailing” which happens to be a mellow, upbeat groove. Following this is “Slinky”– this one is just down right dirty. These cats really jam on this one. The collection closes with “Puerto Plata”, a piece that’s right at a minute and a half. It is the Latin tinged companion piece to “Cabarete”, a dynamic tune Egan named for the wind surfing town in the Dominican Republic. A serene ballad is what “Graceful Branch” is made of. It is the perfect album contrast. There is definitely a rare chemistry among the trio and it exudes throughout the entire collection.
Egan, Gottlieb and Forman have performed with numerous talents that include Pat Metheny, John McGlaughlin, Wayne Shorter, Sting, Gil Evans and others.

Track listing: Sailing; Slinky; About Now; Cabarete; Graceful Branch; McKenzie Portage, Little Pagoda, Tea In Tiananmen Square; Puerto Plaza. Album personnel: Mark Egan (Bass); Danny Gottlieb (drums); Mitch Forman (keyboard).