Home Lifestyle Black History Selma, AL. — 40th Historic Selma Pilgrimage.

Selma, AL. — 40th Historic Selma Pilgrimage.




SATURDAY, March 21

Selma, AL. — 40th Historic Selma Pilgrimage.   Tour historic homes and churches with 150th anniversary Civil War-to-50th anniversary Civil Rights heritage. Take the Welcome Wagon Tour through Old Town, visit museums, art shows, evening house reception, cemetery tour, gristmill.  Tickets available 8:30-4 during Pilgrimage at headquarters, 109 Union St.  For more information, call 334-412-8550 or 1-800-45-SELMA. Find Selma’s Historic Pilgrimage on Facebook.  Website:  www.selmapilgrimage.com


40th Selma Pilgrimage Celebrates Civil War, Civil Rights Anniversaries March 20-21

SELMA, Ala. — Join us March 20-21 for a banner year as the 40th Selma Pilgrimage commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Selma-to-Montgomery Voting Rights Marches and the 150th anniversary of the Civil War Battle of Selma.Tour homes and churches where Martin Luther King Jr. and others planned strategies and led Civil Rights rallies, where Civil War generals set up headquarters and Southern Belles saved silver and jewels.Stop by Pilgrimage Headquarters at the Vaughan-Smitherman Museum (109 Union St.) for tickets and refreshments, then experience southern hospitality through guided tours that include a Welcome Wagon trip through Old Town. Tours include four homes, eight churches, the 19th Century Heritage Village, 1860’s Kenan’s Mill, Sturdivant Hall, Vaughan-Smitherman Museum, Old Depot Museum, Selma Civil Rights Interpretive Center, Old Live Oak Cemetery “Ghost Walk,” ArtsRevive’s Spider Martin Voting Rights Marches photo exhibit, Selma Art Guild and Alabama Plein Air Artists Show and Sale.

Homes are:

Marshall’s Grove, c. 1843, a Greek Revival built by one of the area’s first physicians and used by Union Gen. James H. Wilson for his headquarters during the Battle of Selma.

Jackson Home, c. 1912, where Martin Luther King Jr. planned the historic Selma-to-Montgomery march. He often stayed here and met with civil rights leaders at its dining room table.

Jordan Home, c. 1869, a two-story Italianate that was built for Gus Jordan and remained in the family until 1978. Locals say that longtime Auburn Coach Ralph “Shug” Jordan, who grew up in Selma, often played catch here. Federal, Empire and Victorian antiques are on display.

Phillips-Hobbs-Gamble House, c. 1837, a Greek Revival cottage where Mrs. Frances John Hobbs hid her husband’s jewelry store silver inside the walls before Yankee lootersrazed much of Selma. This home is open only for the Friday evening reception.

Churches are:

Brown Chapel AME, the starting point of the voting rights marches and location of many civil rights rallies;

Tabernacle Baptist, site of the first Selma mass meeting for voting rights;

First Baptist (Martin Luther King St.), designed by a local black architect and site of SNCC headquarters during the Selma campaign;

Reformed Presbyterian, headquarters for Concerned White Citizens of Alabama when they arrived to march for voting rights;

First Baptist (Lauderdale Street), features High Gothic style and Tiffany windows and its first minister became chaplain for Selma Civil War troops;

Church Street United Methodist, built in Romanesque style in 1901 and the first denomination to organize in Selma;

St. Paul’s Episcopal, designed by the Up johns and features Tiffany windows by parishioner Clara Weaver Parrish;  and

Queen of Peace Catholic Church, built in 1869 using stones from ruins of the Confederate Arsenal. St. Andrew’s Hall next door was rebuilt from the Masonic Lodge in Cahawba.

On Saturday evening, hear “residents” of Old Live Oak Cemetery tell how they helped shape history. Tours begin at 5:30 and 6:30 p.m.Visit  selmapilgrimage.com where you can download a brochure and check special offers. Updates are posted on Facebook at “Selma’s Historic Pilgrimage.”  You may also email  info@selmapilgrimage.com or call 334-412-8550 or 800-45-SELMA (800-457-3562). Sponsored by the Selma-Dallas County Historic Preservation Society, Pilgrimage began in 1976 as a way to share the city’s variety of architectural styles and rich history. Selma’s historic district features more than 1200 structures.