Home National President Obama Honors Outstanding Mathematics and Science Teachers

President Obama Honors Outstanding Mathematics and Science Teachers


WASHINGTON, DC — President Obama today named 108 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. This year’s awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity schools. The educators will receive their awards at a Washington, DC, event later this summer.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. The awardees named today teach 7th through 12th grade.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony, as well educational and celebratory events, and visits with members of the Administration.

“These teachers are shaping America’s success through their passion for math and science,” President Obama said. “Their leadership and commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge tomorrow.”

President Obama is strengthening education in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields in order to fully harness the promise our Nation’s students. Investing in exemplary teachers like these awardees is vital to inspiring the next generation of explorers and innovators. That’s why President Obama launched the “Educate to Innovate” campaign, which has garnered more than $1 billion in financial and in-kind support for STEM programs. It is also why the President has called for preparing 100,000 excellent science and mathematics teachers over the next decade, leading to the creation of “100kin10,” a coalition of leading corporations, philanthropies, universities, service organizations, and others working to train and retain STEM teachers across the Nation. In addition, the President’s proposed STEM Master Teacher Corps aims to leverage the expertise of some of our nation’s best and brightest teachers in science and mathematics to elevate the teaching of these subjects nationwide.

The recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are listed below, by state.

To learn more about these extraordinary teachers, please visit: https://recognition.paemst.org

Marla Hines, Vestavia Hills High School
Sarah Lowman, Tanner High School

Tasha Barnes, Wendler Middle School
Russell Walker, Romig Middle School

Shannon Mann, Osborn Middle School
Marni Landry, Paradise Valley High School

Brian Leonard, Lake Hamilton High School
Amanda Jones, Poyen High School

Marianne Chowning-Dray, Eastside College Preparatory School
Scott Holloway, Westlake High School

Kirstin Oseth, Cheyenne Mountain Junior High School
Mark Paricio, Smoky Hill High School

Jacqueline Corricelli, Conard High School
Joshua Steffenson, Glastonbury High School

Kristin Carmen, Sussex Technical High School
Christopher Havrilla, Woodbridge High School

District of Columbia
Aris Pangilinan, Benjamin Banneker Academic High School
Florentia Spires, The Howard University Middle School of Mathematics and Science

Department of Defense Education Activity
Ryan Goodfellow, Vilseck American High School
Jennifer Wilson, Andersen Middle School

Robin O’Brien, Seminole Ridge Community High School
Carlos Montero, Dr. Michael M. Krop Senior High School

Valerie Jones, Ron Clark Academy
Pauline Henry, Luke Garrett Middle School

Amy Yonashiro, ‘Iolani School
Erin Flynn, Sacred Hearts Academy

Ramey Uriarte, Heritage Middle School
Melyssa Ferro, Syringa Middle School

Darshan Jain, Adlai E. Stevenson High School
Rebecca Vieyra, Cary-Grove High School

Melissa Colonis, Lafayette Tecumseh Junior High School
Liviu Haiducu, Avon Advanced Learning Center

Allysen Lovstuen, Decorah High School
Brian Reece, Central Academy

Patrick Flynn, Olathe East High School
Jeremi Wonch, Indian Trail Middle School

Robyn Morris, East Oldham Middle School
Andrew Kemp, Louisville Male High School

Lerri Cockrell, David Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy
Michael Simoneaux, Dutchtown High School

William O’Brien, Camden Hills Regional High School
Lisa McLellan, Windham High School

Julie Harp, Easton High School
James Schafer, Montgomery Blair High School

Suzanne Kubik, Middleboro High School
Susannah Cowden, Roxbury Preparatory Charter School

Luke Wilcox, East Kentwood High School
Walter Erhardt, Battle Creek Area Mathematics and Science Center

Leif Carlson, Jefferson Community School
Peter Bohacek, Henry Sibley High School

Jenny Simmons, Saltillo High School
Betsy Sullivan, Madison Central High School

Ruth Knop, Parkway West Senior High School
Kathleen Dwyer, Maplewood Richmond Heights High School

Daniel Bartsch, Billings Senior High School
David McDonald, Sidney High School

Shelby Aaberg, Scottsbluff High School
Angela Bergman, Westside High School

Carrie Hair, Darrell C. Swope Middle School – Gifted and Talented Magnet
Jan Hrindo, Incline Middle School

New Hampshire
Stephanie Burke, West Running Brook Middle School
Jennifer Deenik, Souhegan High School

New Jersey
Kathleen Carter, North Hunterdon High School
Michael Lawrence, West Orange High School

New Mexico
Marco Martínez-Leandro, Highland High School
Karen Temple-Beamish, Albuquerque Academy

New York
Patrick Honner, Brooklyn Technical High School
Chance Nalley, Horace Mann School

North Carolina
Julie Riggins, East Forsyth High School
Jeffrey Milbourne, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

North Dakota
Cynthia Nelson, Grand Forks Central High School
Scott Johnson, Century High School

Karma Vince, McCord Junior High School
Christopher Monsour, Columbian High School

Mark Thomas, Stillwater High School
Sarah Vann, Owasso Eighth Grade Center

Mona Schraer, Grant High School
Bradford Hill, Southridge High School

Susan Higley, Hughesville Junior/Senior High School
Derrick Wood, Conestoga High School

Puerto Rico
Eric Figueroa, University Gardens High School
Maria Vicenty, Central High School of Visual Arts

Rhode Island
Michelle Way DaSilva, Kickemuit Middle School
Erin Escher, Portsmouth Middle School

South Carolina
Brooke Lance, Lakeside Middle School
Joseph Parker, McCants Middle School

South Dakota
Lindsey Brewer, Huron High School
Janet Wagner, Bon Homme School

Micahel Brown, Montgomery Central High School
Pierre Jackson, Middle College High School

Jessica Caviness, Coppell High School
Michalle McCallister, Robert G. Cole Middle and High school

U.S. Territories
Nneka Howard-Sibilly, Charlotte Amalie High School
Shamika Williams-Henley, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School

Nathan Auck, Horizonte Instruction and Training Center
Andrew Neilson, Logan High School

Susan Abrams, Montpelier High School
Stewart Williamson, Peoples Academy High School

Melanie Pruett, Bailey Bridge Middle School
Anne Moore, Robious Middle School

Michael Conklin, University High School
Gretel von Bargen, Skyline High School

West Virginia
Pete Karpyk, Weir High School
Eric Kincaid, Morgantown High School

Corey Andreasen, North High School
Scott Hertting, Neenah High School

Kim Parfitt, Cheyenne Central High School
Thomas Smith, Dean Morgan Junior High School


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here