Home ♃ Recent Stories ☄ Meet Candidates for School Board in 2017 Birmingham Municipal Elections

Meet Candidates for School Board in 2017 Birmingham Municipal Elections


By Barnett Wright

The Birmingham Times


Nearly three dozen candidates have qualified to run for a seat on the Birmingham City School Board in the 2017 Municipal Elections on Aug. 22.

However, among the 32 who qualified, a majority of current members on the board are not running again.

Sitting board members Sherman Collins (District 1), Lyord Watson (District 2), Brian Giattina (District 3), Randall Woodfin (District 5) and April Williams (District 8) will not seek re-election. Collins is running for the District 1 seat on the City Council and Woodfin is running for mayor.

Runoff elections will be held October 3, 2017. Elected officials began their terms of office on October 24.

Here are candidates for school board followed by candidates for mayor and city council.


Board of Education


District 1

Bennie Holmes

Douglas Ragland

Cedric Small

Jerry Tate

Keith Rice


District 2

Brandon McCray

Teresa Michal


District 3

Mary Boehm

Larry Contri


District 4

Amber Courtney

Daagye Hendricks (I)

Edward Maddox


District 5


Buford Burks

Eloise Crenshaw

David McKinney

Michael Milsap

Aaisha Muhammad

Martha McDowell

Andrea Mitchell

Angela Scoggins-Watson


District 6

LaVon Beard

Cheri Gardner (I)

Ervin Hill


District 7

Wardine Alexander (I)

Patricia McAdory

Walter Wilson



District 8


Patricia Henderson

Donald Tyrone Silmon

Sonja Smith

Antwon Womack



District 9

Sandra Brown (I)

Lawrence Jackson


Mayor of Birmingham


Patricia Bell

William Bell Sr. (I)

Ronaldo Davis

Ervin Hill II

Angela-Gertrudis Hunter

Carl Jackson

Lanny Jackson

Donald Lomax

Frank Matthews

Brother Sims (Pastor Fernandez Sims)

Randall Woodfin

Chris Woods


City Council

District 1

Sherman Collins

Lashunda Scales (I)


District 2


Lawrence Conaway

Kimberly Jeanty

Stephen L. Murphy

Kimberly Rafferty (I)

Jordan Thompson

Deanna Reed

Thomas Williams

Tyrone Williams


District 3

Valerie Abbott (I)

Rowan Henderson

Ryan Jones


District 4


Mary Lamay

William Parker (I)

Qunelius Pettway

Sergio Williams



District 5


Johnathan Austin (I)

Dorothea Crosby

Christopher Davis

Darrell O’Quinn

Erica Robbins

Jeremy Schatz

Robert Walker


District 6


Keith Mims

Shelia Tyson (I)

Keith Williams


District 7


Hosea Lewis

Lonnie Malone

James (Jay) Roberson (I)

Jeffrey Rowser


District 8


Steven Hoyt (I)

Lynette Peters

Gerri Robinson

Adlai Trone


District 9


Angene Coleman

Eric Hall

John Hilliard

Wendell Major

Roderick Royal

David Russell

Reginald Swanson

James Williams Jr.




Source: Birmingham City Clerk’s office. I – Incumbent.