Home ♃ Recent Stories ☄ Here are all candidates for 2017 Birmingham Municipal Elections to be held...

Here are all candidates for 2017 Birmingham Municipal Elections to be held Aug. 22


By Barnett Wright

The Birmingham Times


Incumbent Birmingham Mayor William Bell will face 11 challengers in the Aug. 22 city elections. Bell and nearly a dozen other hopefuls for mayor were among a total of 87 candidates who qualified by the 5 p.m. Friday, July 7, deadline to run for mayor, city council and school board in one of the most crowded fields in recent memory.

Along with 12 candidates for mayor, there are 43 for Birmingham City Council and 32 for Birmingham school board.

In the city council races, Kim Rafferty in District 2 faces the most challengers (seven) while Lashunda Scales in District 1 is the only incumbent with one challenger, Sherman Collins, who is not running for re-election on the school board.

Incumbents Scales, Rafferty, Valerie Abbott (District 3), William Parker (District 4), Council President Johnathan Austin (District 5), Sheila Tyson (District 6), Steven Hoyt (District 7) and Jay Roberson (District 8) are all running for re-election.

Marcus Lundy (District 9) is not running for a second term but eight candidates have qualified for the seat including former Birmingham City Council president Roderick Royal.

On the school board, a majority of members will not run again.

Collins, Brian Giattina, Lyord Watson, Randall Woodfin and April Williams will not seek re-election. Collins is running for the District 1 seat on the City Council and Woodfin is running for mayor.

Runoff elections will be held October 4, 2017. Elected officials began their terms of office on October 24.

Here are candidates for mayor, city council and school board.




Patricia Bell

William Bell Sr. (I)

Ronaldo Davis

Ervin Hill II

Angela-Gertrudis Hunter

Carl Jackson

Lanny Jackson

Donald Lomax

Frank Matthews

Brother Sims (Pastor Fernandez Sims)

Randall Woodfin

Chris Woods


City Council

District 1

Sherman Collins

Lashunda Scales (I)


District 2


Lawrence Conaway

Kimberly Jeanty

Stephen L. Murphy

Kimberly Rafferty (I)

Jordan Thompson

Deanna Reed

Thomas Williams

Tyrone Williams


District 3

Valerie Abbott (I)

Rowan Henderson

Ryan Jones


District 4


Mary Lamay

William Parker (I)

Qunelius Pettway

Sergio Williams



District 5


Johnathan Austin (I)

Dorothea Crosby

Christopher Davis

Darrell O’Quinn

Erica Robbins

Jeremy Schatz

Robert Walker


District 6


Keith Mims

Shelia Tyson (I)

Keith Williams


District 7


Hosea Lewis

Lonnie Malone

James (Jay) Roberson (I)

Jeffrey Rowser


District 8


Steven Hoyt (I)

Lynette Peters

Gerri Robinson

Adlai Trone


District 9


Angene Coleman

Eric Hall

John Hilliard

Wendell Major

Roderick Royal

David Russell

Reginald Swanson

James Williams Jr.



Board of Education


District 1

Bennie Holmes

Douglas Ragland

Cedric Small

Jerry Tate

Keith Rice


District 2

Brandon McCray

Teresa Michal


District 3

Mary Boehm

Larry Contri


District 4

Amber Courtney

Daagye Hendricks (I)

Edward Maddox


District 5


Buford Burks

Eloise Crenshaw

David McKinney

Michael Milsap

Aaisha Muhammad

Martha McDowell

Andrea Mitchell

Angela Scoggins-Watson


District 6

LaVon Beard

Cheri Gardner (I)

Ervin Hill


District 7

Wardine Alexander (I)

Patricia McAdory

Walter Wilson



District 8


Patricia Henderson

Donald Tyrone Silmon

Sonja Smith

Antwon Womack



District 9

Sandra Brown (I)

Lawrence Jackson


Source: Birmingham City Clerk’s office. I – Incumbent.